Observations

So the other element to this project malarky is an experiment in retail. . .

Since the 1/07/12 I haven’t bought a single non essential item. It’s only the 11th July so this hasn’t exactly been much of a challenge yet. But other people’s observations about Re-Loved 52 have been really interesting.

There are definitely two camps of opinion. The first thinking that I am “mental, eclectic,insane.” The second thinking this is “brave, inspired, brilliant.”  I would probably agree with all of the above.

Regardless of people’s opinions on me undertaking this project, there is a common opinion amongst all that it will be impossible to keep this up for the full 52 weeks.

I disagree, but then I guess that’s why I’m the one attempting it! I wonder if it’s a mark of the materialistic nature of our society that means people cannot imagine going without something they desire for a prolonged period of time? This started out as a personal project but 2 weeks in & I already feel like there is a wider issue here. I am no sociologist however so I’ll leave that debate to the more academic of you out there! My personal conclusion so far is that clearly I am no sheep (baaaaaah) I shall go back to project 3 now which will, of course, be posted up on Sunday.

Tara for now chucks

Jess xoxo

2 thoughts on “Observations

  1. Hello Jess,
    Lovely to see you again yesterday! This is a fab blog & I will be following your journey. You’re very brave, I know I could never do this!!!! Your shoes look great by the way. Maybe next year we could do a Make, Do and Mend session together 🙂 x

    • Re-Loved 52 says:

      Hi Joe, it was lovely to see you again yesterday! Thank you for your kind words I would love to do a make do & mend session with you sometime, speak to you again soon no doubt 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

