Project 4 . . .

Light up your flowery heart

I’ve been looking at the shade on this lamp for a while now. The base is the most glorious model of the eiffel tower & it has always bothered me that the shade is so dull. So what could I do to jazz it up a bit & give it a bit more colour . . .

Ingredients

1) Blank cream lampshade

2) Vintage old purple flower trim

3) Pva glue mixed with water

4) Good scissors

5) Co ordinating green lace trim

Method

First I ironed the flowery trim so it was nice & flat – As it’s quite old I had to test the heat carefully so I didn’t burn it. Then I toyed for ages deciding whether to stick it on the inside or the outside. I decided on the inside as I quite like the abstract look it creates when the light shines through it, rather than on it.

Then it got messy. Hello PVA. Hello sticky fingers. Hello fun times. I had to fiddle quite a bit with it as I couldn’t get it to fit in one piece and it was too fiddly trying to do the snippy triangle thing. So eventually I settled on cutting the trim in small rectangular sections and pasting them inside with the lovely gloopy glue. I love it when the glue dries on your hands & you can just peel it all off.

I did keep holding it up to the main light just to make sure it was all aligning properly. I did a fairly neat job & to hide the shadow line of where the trim ends inside near the top, I glued a co-ordinating green lace trim round the outside.

I’m quite chuffed with the end result, it looks really arty & individual & it seems fitting to sit atop the eiffel tower now! I really think Im hitting my stride with these projects now & I really feel there are so many more things I can do! Good job seeing as I’ve got 48 more to do!

See you for next week for Project 5

Jessica xoxo

3 thoughts on “Project 4 . . .

Leave a Reply

